Toronto city hall structureToronto City Council consists of the Mayor and 25 City Councillors, one representing each of the city’s wards. The council is the main governing and legislative body for the city. City councillors also sit on committees and on community councils in the area where they have been elected.

The decision-making process involves committees and City Council. Committees include some, but not all Councillors.

Committees make recommendations to City Council for a final decision, while community councils (a type of committee) have some powers to make decisions on specific issues. Every Councillor is a member of City Council.

Toronto City Council Meetings, Agendas, and Minutes

View more information about City Council here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *